Skip to main content


Weitere Artikel dieser Ausgabe durch Wischen aufrufen

01.06.2011 | Ausgabe 5-6/2011

Annals of Telecommunications 5-6/2011

Impact of scheduling algorithms on performance of crosspoint-queued switch

Milutin Radonjic, Igor Radusinovic


The performance analysis of the 32 × 32 crosspoint-queued switch is presented in this paper. Switches with small buffers in crosspoints have been evaluated in the late 1980s but mostly for uniform traffic. However, due to technological limitations of that time, it was impractical to implement large buffers together with switching fabric. The crosspoint-queued switch architecture has been recently brought back into focus since modern technology enables an easy implementation of large buffers in crosspoints. An advantage of this solution is the absence of control communication between linecards and schedulers. In this paper, the performances of four algorithms (longest queue first, round robin, exhaustive round robin, and frame-based round robin matching) are analyzed and compared. The results obtained for the crosspoint-queued switch are compared with the output queued switch. Throughput, average cell latency and instantaneous packet delay variance are evaluated under uniform and nonuniform traffic patterns. The results will show that the longest queue first algorithm has the highest throughput in many simulated cases but the highest average cell latency and delay variance among observed algorithms. It will also be shown that the choice of the scheduling algorithm does not play a role in the switch performance if the buffers are long enough. This will prove that some form of round-robin-based algorithms become a better choice for implementation due to their simplicity, small hardware requirements, and avoidance of the starvation problem, which is a major drawback of the longest queue first algorithm.

Bitte loggen Sie sich ein, um Zugang zu diesem Inhalt zu erhalten

Über diesen Artikel

Weitere Artikel der Ausgabe 5-6/2011

Annals of Telecommunications 5-6/2011 Zur Ausgabe